Brunch at Hale Ikena Kick-Off New Year

The Honolulu Orchid Society held its 2012 Installation Banquet on Sunday, January 15, 2012 at the Hale Ikena Restaurant on the Golf Course at Fort Shafter .  President Ruth Chun and the newly elected Officers and Board of Trustees were installed at the banquet.  Fifty-four people attended the banquet which featured a brunch buffet of fresh fruits, assorted fresh vegetables, pastries, hot breakfast and lunch entrees, desserts and beverages.  All who attended left with armloads of flowering orchid plants and seedlings.  The banquet festivities were captured by photographers Calvin Abe and Melvin Waki.  Click on the images for a larger view.

President Ruth Chun and Receptionists Nancy Woltmon and Carol De Witt welcomed members and guests to the Installation Banquet.
More than 50 members and guests attended the Banquet held at the Hale Ikena Restaurant.
Williette Wong gave the invocation.
Officers and Trustees for 2012 were sworn in by Dr. Yoneo Sagawa.


President Ruth Chun is photographed with Marisa Maemori who was selected as the Orchidist of the Year.
Calvin and Sherry Abe won the Grand Prize during the lucky number festivities.
Roy Higa walked away with one of the featured door prizes.